Press Release
Media Contact: Mary-Angela Hardwick
Office: 443-949-0575


Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay Announces New Board Members

(April 13, 2018 – Annapolis, MD) The Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay announces the election of three new members to its Board of Directors. The newly elected Board members are Shawn Kimbro, Brian Macnamara, and Gregory Wims.

Alliance Executive Director, Kate Fritz, announced, “I am pleased to welcome our three newest members to our Board of Directors. They each have a unique background, with diverse experiences that make them an asset to the Alliance’s Board of Directors and to the organization as a whole.”

Shawn Kimbro is the author of two popular fishing books, Chesapeake Light Tackle, An Introduction to Light Tackle Fishing on the Chesapeake Bay and The Right Stuff, Gear and Attitudes for Trophy Light Tackle Fishing. A frequent speaker to fishing clubs, environmental groups, and conservation organizations, he is recognized and respected across the Chesapeake region as a leading voice for stewardship within the fishing community. His innovative and conservation-oriented fishing techniques have been written about in the Washington Post, the Baltimore Sun, The Annapolis Capital, Chesapeake Bay Magazine, Field & Stream, Saltwater Sportsman, and other publications. He was recently profiled in an illustrated six-page feature in Angler’s Journal. His how-to fishing videos have garnered nearly a million views on YouTube and on other social media outlets, and his blog, is one of the most visited fishing websites in the region.

Brian Macnamara is the Senior Vice President and Corporate Controller of Host Hotels & Resorts, Inc. with over 26 years of experience in accounting, finance and real estate. Over his more than 20-year-career at Host, he has held numerous positions since February 1996, including Vice President, Financial Reporting and Corporate Real Estate and Vice President, and Assistant Corporate Controller. Prior to Host, Brian worked at the Securities & Exchange Commission and Deloitte & Touche. A graduate of Virginia Tech’s Center for Leadership in Global Sustainability he recently completed a Master’s degree in natural resources. Brian is a long-time resident of Arlington, Virginia where he lives with his wife Marie.

Gregory Wims is a local businessman and community activist who founded the Victims’ Rights Foundation (VRF) in 1996. He is the current Governor for Rotary District 7620 serving Central Maryland and Washington, DC. In the last 50 years, he has raised more than $2 million dollars, logged more than 500,000 miles, and volunteered more than 38,000 hours. He began his volunteer career in 1969, when he was elected vice president of the State of Maryland Youth Commission. The next year, as president of that organization, he played a pivotal role in lowering the voting age from 21 to 18. In the 1970’s, he served as the youngest person ever appointed by the County Executive as Commissioner of the Montgomery County Maryland Human Relations Commission. In1976, Greg Wims became the first African American in Montgomery County, to work for a member of Congress, the 8th Congressional District. In the early 1990s, Gregory Wims served as the membership chairman for the NAACP, recruiting more than 1,000 new members. In 1994, he was elected president of the Montgomery County Chapter of the NAACP, and one-year later; he was voted President of the NAACP’s Maryland State Chapter. In this role, he led more peaceful demonstrations than any previous president and organized with Janice Washington the first federal employment task force for the National NAACP. During this, he was also appointed by President George Bush as a Board Member of the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

The Alliance’s 2018 Board of Directors is:


  • Robert Paul; Board Chair; Ret. Professor of Ecology, St. Mary’s College of Maryland
  • James Elliott; Secretary; General Counsel, Keystone Custom Homes
  • John R. Detweiler; Treasurer; Detweiler Enterprises
  • Don Boucher; Ex-Officio Chair, President, Chesapeake Center for Excellence


  • Joe Carnahan; General Manager of Emerging Businesses, Luck Ecosystems
  • Dennis Chestnut; Former Executive Director, Groundwork Anacostia River DC, Inc.
  • Dan Cornell; Vice President and CIO, Altria Client Services
  • Andrea Field; Partner, Hunton & Williams LLP
  • William “Bill” Gill; Asst.VP, Environmental Affairs, Smithfield Foods
  • Kelly Gutshall; Owner, LandStudies, Inc.
  • Paula Hamel; Director, Dominion Energy
  • Richard W Hart; Retired Corporate Officer, Luck Stone Corporation
  • Sally Hornor; Retired Professor of Ecology and Microbiology, AACC
  • Jan Jarrett; Environmental Consultant
  • Shawn Kimbro; Environmental Consultant and Educator
  • Stephan Levitsky; Vice President, Corporate Sustainability, Perdue Farms
  • Brian Macnamara; Senior Vice President/Corporate Controller, Host Hotels & Resorts, Inc.
  • Steve Pattison; Principal, Ecologix Group
  • Tara Scully; Assistant Professor, George Washington University
  • Virginia Snead; Stormwater Program Manager, AMT Engineering
  • Jennifer Rucker Troy; Chair, Development Committee; Principal, 410LABS Inc.
  • Gregory Wims; President, Victims’ Rights Foundation

About The Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay

Founded in 1971, the Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay works throughout the Chesapeake Bay watershed to lead, support, and inspire local action and build partnerships with individuals, communities, governments, businesses, and other groups to restore the lands, rivers, and streams of the Chesapeake Bay watershed. The Alliance is headquartered in Annapolis, MD with additional state offices in Richmond, Virginia, and Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. For more information about the Alliance, visit: